Go For The Gold

Watching the Olympic Games has always been something I’ve not only enjoyed, but actually looked forward to. I admit, I don’t watch every event (I don’t even understand every event!), but like many of you, I have my favorites.

This year is extra special as I am enjoying seeing many of the views I saw firsthand just last summer when I was in Brazil for the Rotary International Convention in Sao Paulo and then a brief vacation in Rio.

2015-06-12-102557_18711904160_o

The sights there were beautiful – the statue of Christ, Copacabana Beach, Sugarloaf Mountain…the food (& drinks) were amazing – fresh seafood and caipirinhas… but the opportunities – to fellowship, serve, and speak on an international stage – those were remarkable experiences I will never forget.

Much like the athletes in Brazil, we must also “go for the gold” by taking advantage of every opportunity for training, networking, fellowship, service and even performance. We must set goals for ourselves and work hard to achieve them.

Posting regularly on this blog and sending weekly emails to those on my motivational e-news list (you can sign up to receive those here!) is a small step for me in my quest to “go for the gold.” I have lots more goals I hope to accomplish in the months and years to come, and I am confident I will reach each of them.

Over the next few weeks (& months), you’ll hear more about each of my goals, and I hope I can count on your support.

Will you stand on the podium with me as you reach your goals too? Or will you be sitting in the audience cheering me on? Either way is acceptable. Just don’t find yourself sitting at home watching with regret that you haven’t reached your own goals and being envious of those who have.

2015-06-05-151457_18874510536_o

What’s YOUR gold for this year? Comment here or email it to me personally! You’re a champion. Let’s go prove it!

2 Comments

Filed under Professional Development

2 responses to “Go For The Gold

  1. Being a journalist at over 50

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment