Let It Go…

Anyone who knows me well knows I rarely take the time to sit for two straight hours to watch a movie. (There are a few exceptions – those movies I will watch EVERY time I get the chance…Grease, The Wizard of Oz, Bull Durham, Blind Side…but I digress.) And if you asked me my LEAST favorite type of movie, the answer would be a close tie between horror films and animated ones. I just don’t do scary and I don’t do cartoons. Weird, I know.

So when the Disney film Frozen was released in 2013, I heard that song a million times but never watched it. “Let it go” became a huge hit and also a standard answer for those who found themselves irritated with someone (or something) we had no control over. I’m sure that was not the intent of the soundtrack (it probably wasn’t even the meaning in the movie, what do I know?), but it happened.

And this week, again, I found myself singing, out loud, “let it goooooooo!” (You’ve done it too…you know you have!!)

Because sometimes nice people do dumb things. And sometimes bad things happen to good people. And sometimes there is absolutely nothing we can do about that. We have to “let it go” for our own health and well-being.

For every minute you are angry, you lose 60 seconds of happiness. Which is more important? I can answer that for you…your happiness. Every. Single. Time.

If there’s an issue you’re dealing with that makes you unhappy or uncomfortable, and you really can’t control it, it’s time to “let it go” and walk away. Maybe for a minute, maybe for a day, or maybe for a lifetime.

I did it, and it felt pretty good. What do you need to let go of?

1 Comment

Filed under Professional Development

One response to “Let It Go…

  1. Tao Life Blog

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. I have to let go of the anguish I feel of trying to help people who do not truly want help.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

