It’s Just A Little Turbulence

Turbulence is, by definition, a violent commotion or disorder. We routinely associate turbulence with air travel. It affects different people different ways. Some may not even notice it. Some may become frightened or even ill when they experience turbulence. No doubt when it happens, someone on a microphone or in the seat next to you reminds you “it’s just turbulence…don’t worry!”

I was thinking about turbulence yesterday when I dealt with a “not-so-polite” customer (that’s my way of being polite in describing her). I must admit, I was proud of myself for the way I handled the situation, and I’m not ashamed to admit that.

You see, at one time (not so long ago), I most likely (ok, definitely) would have responded to an unreasonable person with my own outrage, impatience and “war of words” if you will. But this time, I didn’t.

Apparently, my conscious effort to tolerate situations that are truly intolerable is actually working. Apparently, in my “middle age” I’m finally developing more acceptance of situations I cannot control or influence.

Let’s be clear. I will not be a doormat and I certainly don’t condone passivity when it comes to defending yourself, your beliefs or your actions. I will not allow someone to abuse me (verbally or otherwise) or a situation that I’m part of. But in the same respect, appareron white can't fix stupidntly after turning forty “something” I have finally “got it” – you can’t fix stupid!

So this is how I choose to address the turbulence in my life these days. With grace and poise, not anger, frustration, worry or rebellion. And there’s plenty of turbulence these days. But that’s another story for another day…

How will you handle the turbulence that shows up unexpectedly in your life today? Or tomorrow? Or next week? It’s your choice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Professional Development

Leave a Reply

